Instagram will giving you a final chance if you were sure you wanted to unfollow that account

0
36

Instagram used to have a safeguard in place to make sure you really, truly wanted to stop following someone on its mobile app.

If you clicked on the “unfollow” button (it looks like the top half of a person with a check mark next to it) intentionally or accidentally, it would ask if you were sure you wanted to unfollow that account, giving you a final chance to change your mind.

But it quietly removed the dialogue box in the latest app update. Now your hasty swiping or large thumbs could make for some awkward re-follow request situations.

My Instagram app hadn’t been updated and was still offering up the saving grace this afternoon. But once I popped into the App Store and updated my Insta, it was gone. Long gone.

We asked Instagram why it would eliminate the feature, and whether it was just a test or something more permanent. No response yet.

At least the notification still exists on desktop, which is also the best place for online creeping.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here